Want to learn more about whisky? The Oak Barrel has you covered in our series of whisky appreciation classes. The monthly sessions are designed to take you down through the rabbit hole into the world of whisky… or help push an existing obsession along the path.

Hosted by the Oak Barrel’s own whisky and spirits specialist, we’ll go through six (or seven) different expressions exhibiting a range of flavour profiles and from around the world. It’s a fun and intimate night out (or in?) and one of the top four whisky tastings in Sydney according to Time Out.

We like to keep the exact line-up of whiskies close to our chest in the lead up to the events to make sure we can taste bottles that are new, relevant and interesting on the night.

That said, you can usually expect a fair bit of Scotch (from a few different regions), something from Japan or Australia - perhaps even further abroad from whisky's traditional regions.

Classes run from 6.30pm to 8pm on a different day each month. The ticket price includes all samples, with an expert (read: a passionate fellow whisky lover who likes to talk all things whisky) on hand to guide you through them all.

These tastings do regularly sell out, so bookings are essential. Please take public transport to The Oak Barrel (as after six whiskies you will be over the limit) and we advise that you organise a full dinner before or after the event.

2018 WHISKY APPRECIATION CLASSES

Tuesday 23 January -  SOLD OUT

Thursday 15 February - SOLD OUT

Thursday 15 March - SOLD OUT

Wednesday 18 April - SOLD OUT

Wednesday 9 May - SOLD OUT

Tuesday 12 June - SOLD OUT

Wednesday 18 July - SOLD OUT

Thursday 9 August - SOLD OUT

Tuesday 28 August - SOLD OUT

Wednesday 19 September - SOLD OUT

Thursday 4 October -SOLD OUT

Tuesday 23 October - SOLD OUT

Wednesday 14 November - [MEMBERS][GUESTS] 

2019 WHISKY APPRECIATION CLASSES

Tuesday 22 January  - [MEMBERS][GUESTS] 

Wednesday 14 February - [MEMBERS][GUESTS] 

Top image by May Lawrence.