Want to learn more about whisky? The Oak Barrel has you covered in our series of whisky appreciation classes. The monthly sessions are designed to take you down through the rabbit hole into the world of whisky… or help push an existing obsession along the path.

Hosted by the Oak Barrel’s own whisky and spirits specialist, we’ll go through six (or seven) different expressions exhibiting a range of flavour profiles and from around the world. It’s a fun and intimate night out (or in?) and one of the top four whisky tastings in Sydney according to Time Out.

We like to keep the exact line-up of whiskies close to our chest in the lead up to the events to make sure we can taste bottles that are new, relevant and interesting on the night.

That said, you can usually expect a fair bit of Scotch (from a few different regions), something from Japan or Australia - perhaps even further abroad from whisky's traditional regions.

Classes run from 6.30pm to 8pm on a different day each month. The ticket price includes all samples, with an expert (read: a passionate fellow whisky lover who likes to talk all things whisky) on hand to guide you through them all.

These tastings do regularly sell out, so bookings are essential. Please take public transport to The Oak Barrel (as after six whiskies you will be over the limit) and we advise that you organise a full dinner before or after the event.

2017 WHISKY APPRECIATION CLASSES

Wednesday 25 January - SOLD OUT

Tuesday 21 February - SOLD OUT

Wednesday 22 MarchSOLD OUT

Tuesday 18 April - SOLD OUT

Wednesday 17 May - SOLD OUT

Tuesday 13 June - SOLD OUT

Wednesday 12 July - SOLD OUT

No Whisky Appreciation August due to Sydney Whisky Fair

Thursday 7 September -SOLD OUT

Tuesday 10 October - SOLD OUT

Wednesday 15 November - SOLD OUT

Tuesday 5 December - SOLD OUT

2018 DATES

Tuesday 23 January - [MEMBERS][GUESTS]

Thursday 15 February - [MEMBERS][GUESTS]

Top image by May Lawrence.